Alkemia Perfume Review

Hi Y’all

I have today just a quick review of some fall scents from Alkemia and can be found on Etsy, here. I had Alkemia on my radar for a while as there have been a lot of good reviews on /r/indiemakeupandmore (found at reddit.com). I will mention before I post my thoughts that my skin pretty much eats all perfumes that I put on, I have a fairly unrefined nose for scents and indie perfumes are still an area that I am just beginning to explore.  Enough about me, let us get on with the scents!!

Order Details: I chose to select the five sample pack with free shipping. I selected four fragrances and asked for the fifth to be a surprise. I ordered on October 13th and received my items on October 18th. My choices were Pumpkin Strumpet, All Hallow’s Eve, Trick or Treat, Falling Stars on Winter Solstice and the surprise was Calaveras de Azucar (Sugar Skulls) and a free sample of Cidre d’Automne.

All reviews are blind and the shop notes will be listed below.

Pumpkin Strumpet

In the bottle it is cinnamon, awesome fall and cinnamon. This is still super cinnamon on my skin and does not morph into anything different. Personally I really like this but I could see how it may not be for everyone. As I mentioned in the beginning my skin eats scents so there is no throw to smell it I have to get close to my arm. It lasted about 45 mins or so. I am tempted to buy a full size of this because FALL!

“A decadent blend of rich pumpkin, caramelized sugar, Madagascar vanilla, precisely balanced with a swirl of cinnamon, ginger, & clove and a tiny drop of amber musk. In a famous study by the Smell & Taste Treatment & Research Foundation, pumpkin pie was found to be the scent most arousing to men. We are not responsible for any indecencies caused by wearing this mouth-wateringly delicious temptation.”

All Hallow’s Eve

In the bottle I smell sweet cream and want to just wrap my self in it. On the skin I did get a slight licorice smell along with a complex sweetness, like baking cookies.  Sadly the scent just disappears in about thirty minutes because my skim chemistry hates me and must absorb all the smells. This would be a maybe purchase for me, if the anise and licorice were more prominent I would be all over a large bottle.

“A scent of magic, mystery, remembrance, childhood nostalgia, and sweet blessings for darker times – bourbon vanilla, tonka, black licorice, star anise, roasted marshmallows, hazel, coriander, pale amber, cardamom, smoked benzoin, sweet myrrh, and woodsmoke whisping on autumn air.”

Trick or Treat

In the bottle I smell balsam, it reminds me of the winter candles that I love to burn all winter. On my skin I get a slight leather scent along with same balsam scent. This had the longest lasting silage on me, I could catch whiffs of it without have to get my nose into my skin. I will be buying a full size bottle of this for sure.

“A grownup confection of black licorice, mandarin orange peel, caramelized brown sugar, bourbon vanilla, candied ginger, tonka bean, blonde patchouli, cedar tips, oakmoss, and sandalwood. Utterly sexy on both men and women…”

Falling Stars at Winter Solstice

In the bottle it is winter in a snowy pine forest. I am really glad this does not morph on my skin it is fabulous. Like Trick or Treat it embodies what I always hope winter will smell like. Now that I live somewhere I have access to forestry and snow smelling this has me beyond excited for winter!

“Aromatic balsam needles, a dab of dark musk, sweet myrrh, incense resins, melted snow, and a touch of cabin woodstove smoke.”

Calaveras de Azucar (Sugar Skulls)

In the bottle it is all sugar. On my skin it is AMZAEBALLS, cotton candy and sugar with a slight musky scent and it lingers around. My skin does eat it, so it is a close smell but oh I really like this scent. I see a full size purchase of this totally happening.

“Hauntingly sweet sugar skulls nestled against a backdrop of sugared white ambers”

Cidre d’Automen

In the bottle it is fresh apples with cinnamon. On my skin all I smell is Macintosh apples with a hint of pie spice. It is so lively and light. This also is a great fall scent and totally recommend it if your are more into light scents versus heavy cinnamon ones.

“Freshly pressed varietal fall apples delicately blended with subtle autumnal spices. Sweet, crisp and exquisitely mouth-watering. “

Over all I am thrilled with my purchase from Alkemia and there are plenty more scents that I am excited to try and she makes it so easy with the free shipping. Check out Alkemia on Etsy and FB.

Leave a Reply

